R.I.P. — Robert Ashley

Ashley

Nicely done obit:

http://tinyurl.com/op8jnpx

I remember watching a presentation of Ashley’s breakthrough Perfect Lives with John Piccarella (another fine music critic who had to drop out of the business far too soon) at a theater in New York (one of my first visits to the city as a pro writer). It was an all-afternoon affair. But was so mesmerizing it seemed not long at all. I wrote an extended, impressionistic piece about it for the Phoenix, the only time I covered Ashley.

I’m as guilty as anyone of letting him fall off my screen, so to speak. The only possible excuses are that there was a certain similarity to his works that I’ve heard and that Lovely Music was not exactly the most powerhouse promoter and distributor going. It’s still a lapse I should try to correct. The Kyle Gann bio would be a good start.

Gann’s tribute to Ashley:

http://www.artsjournal.com/postclassic/2014/03/robert-ashley-1930-2014.html

Leave a Reply

