You Learn Something Every Day Dept.: Juan O’Gorman

Iago López’s comment below on Conlon Nancarrow led me to look up the (I did not know how) famous Mexican architect and artist Jaun O’Gorman. So here’s a little scoop on him. I first saw O’Gorman’s work 31 years ago in Mexico City, but while I knew it erased my brain, I did not know who did it (the Central Library building):

Gorman 1

Even better, I see he clearly drew inspiration from Bosch:

OGorman 2

Finally, here’s the only picture I could track down of Nancarrow’s house done by O’Gorman:

OGorman 3

 

One thought on “You Learn Something Every Day Dept.: Juan O’Gorman

  1. O’Gorman’s is one of the greatest stories of retreat from modernism. He built the first modern house of Mexico in 1929 (and Kahlo’s and Rivera’s studios) and was an early champion of the style, but later in his life he completely rejected modern architecture and seeked inspiration in the vernacular, the surreal and in the work of Gaudi and ended up living in a cave!:

Leave a Reply

