I Remember the Day the GOP Nightmare Began …

… though I didn’t know it because I was just over 12 years old. An adult cousin who was a lot more hardcore conservative than I understood, lamented that Herbert Hoover, who had just died, “was a great president who got a raw deal.” This was very shocking to me, since I had already gotten the message that Hoover was a disaster who was glad to spend decades basically forgotten (I think Nixon decided that was a huge mistake). When I asked for an explanation, what I got was, almost literally, “well, he was a Republican.”

Case closed.

Nightmare begins.

Leave a Reply

