Sad Little Music Surprise

I don’t know as this has ever happened before …

Playing vinyl more regularly than in the past, I put on a side of a record that shall remain nameless, because this particular side had a certain elusive magic and evoked a crucial, peaceful-exciting time in a store, also anonymous here, where I worked right after college.

And nothing happened.

The side wasn’t bad, just dated, maybe a bit meh. And the store and the times didn’t come back into me at all.

I concluded maybe things had changed so much, or at least that period had receded in my memory so much, that it could not be evoked the same way it had for decades. Sad.

(PS: In a tiny plus, the cover art still evokes the era plenty well for me. If not my specific situation.)

Leave a Reply

