Now Playing: James McMurtry, “Complicated Game”

I remembered so many lines from this the second time I played it I knew it would be anti-literate perverse not to put it in a year-end list. But while I’ve always skipped over the sonic limitations of this writer-first musician in the past (and the live recordings blast across the boundaries for you), there’s something weird about the sound of this album. Stark? Stiff? Unrelated to mood or lyrics?

I donno. But it holds it back enough to keep it out of the Top 10. Maybe the player piano roll is better.

Leave a Reply

