The Two Kinds of Home-Away-From-Home Bars

A place for bonhomie and booze.

A place for music and madness.

[I’m sorry, but I thought the audiences went downhill during the years I frequented the Rat. From edgy bohos to more like drunken sports fans. Adventurers giving way to tourists.]

After I could legally order a beer, my originals were, respectively, Eddie’s Club and the Top Hat in Missoula.

I agree — awfully easy to romanticize. And I feel more and more ambivalent about such hangouts as I’ve gotten old enough to be legally old. The beloved hangouts became prisons for some people I loved.

Leave a Reply

