The Bawd of Avon

All I’ll say abut Pearshakes is that the finest English teacher I ever had specialized in him and made an overwhelming case that “A Winter’s Tale” was his most underrated and likely greatest work. Immensely stimulating classes. Of course my doddering old brain cannot summon his name at this moment, but I will never forget a comment he wrote on one of my papers (which came out, like many of the best things, almost as quickly as I could type it)

“Why be just a poet when you can compose a critical essay like this?”

Leave a Reply

