Sad Thought on a Glorious May Afternoon

One of the most disturbing remarks made by a long-gone friend was “I don’t want to talk about the past any more — ever!” I was hurt. Even though this was more than 20 years ago, I knew already that as life goes on the fewer and fewer people left who shared your wild and crazy youth become more valuable intimates for that very reason. I was afraid he had grown bitter about the old days. Or just felt old, period. Only later did I understand that the more horrible truth was that he felt he didn’t have anything much to look forward to, and talking about the past underscored that.

Alright I’m going to stop sorting through old boxes and go outside and do some work in the sunny yard.

Leave a Reply

