Grandma Bring Him Back

On the radio this morning, heard a band so indebted to Nirvana I immediately had the very specific itch to hear them. So to inaugurate them on the revamped turntable, I pulled out the first piece of music I ever bought by Nirvana: the so-called “Visible Man” 12″ 45 featuring “Sliver” b/w”Dive” and “About a Girl” (live).

I picked it up because it was forcefully recommended by Mr. Joe Levy who, in one of the most astute and prophetic judgements about music I’ve ever heard, informed me it was a knockout signal by a band that was going to be very important. Heard it once and knew he was right. Though it creeped me out for years that the first time I thought Cobain was singing “Die, die, die, die with me/Die, die, die, die with me.”

Leave a Reply

