Stuff in the Air That Came Out of Speakers Today #34: Harmonizers, Off and Not

In order of increasing surprise and enjoyment:

Lucius, Good Grief (Mom + Pop). I don’t know as I agree with Paul Krugman’s complaint this is “overproduced,” but I can’t deny it does not get inside me as directly as the debut.

The 1975, I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it (Interscope/Dirty Hit). Third time through I’m convinced this outfit has its own take on rock/soul/pop harmonies, not just another of the many, many, many retreads out there. I’m not convinced I need to work as hard as it seems I will to get the words. I mean, would Vampire Weekend saddle an album with that title?

[The] Neats, 1981-84 The Ace of Hearts Years (AoH reissue, 2009). “Made in Boston” by Richard W. (“Rick”) Harte, one of my favorite local producers of all time — a near-equivalent of Jeep Holland IMHO. I was a tad stupefied to realize I did not have this CD version of the vinyl I was enjoying on the revamped turntable. Very much a parallel evolution to R.E.M. and fans of that band should have this, seriously. “Red and Grey” a Boston-rock classic, the five bonus tracks rilly wurth yah tahm.

 

 

Leave a Reply

