R.I.P.: The Greatest

Muhammad Ali changed the lives of ignorant white kids all over this country, no matter how far in the sticks.

I may have more to say about boxing in general when I’m not so tired, but I do want to convey the moment that convinced me Ali had changed history when I was in high school. Rough memory indicates I was a sophomore in Livingston MT in 1967 when, I don’t remember the prompt or the circumstances, but a gal that had not inconsequential social problems herself stood up in the middle of some classroom debate and said “Muhammad Ali is the Greatest!” It jolted me hard. A peer. A white person. Had said something vehemently positive about a black person. Reality changed forever.

Leave a Reply

