R.I.P.: Pat Summitt

One of our all-time favorite sports champs in any role.  This hurts as much as a music icon. I was most devastated, however, at the announcement about five years ago, that she suffered from early-onset Alzheimer’s. That accursed disease has twisted my world more than once and shows there is no mercy or justice in this life.

Years ago, I assumed, from casual watching, that womens’ basketball was just less dynamic than the male version. Coach Summitt showed me how wrong I was.Every time I came across one of her games on TV it was a must-watch. Like all master coaches she fused with her teams and their iron-boned determination was a thrill to behold. They never lost because they went slack or tried something stupid. The record wins were apt rewards.

And I loved her wonderful life story. She was just my age.

Leave a Reply

