1st and Last Items on a Comfort-Music Playlist for Today

Boob Dylan, Blonde on Blonde (my old vinyl, one with the original inside photos). It stoned me.

Various, The Mercury Blues ‘n’ Rhythm Story: Discs 1 &2 — Midwest Blues (Mercury, 1996).

1. It’s Just The Blues – Four Jumps Of Five
  2. Bedroom Blues – Sippie Wallace
  3. Buzz Me – Sippie Wallace
  4. My Baby Left Me – T-Bone Walker
  5. Come Back To Me Baby Blues – T-Bone Walker
  6. She Is Going To Ruin Me – T-Bone Walker
  7. Joy Juice – Dinah Washington
  8. If It’s Good – Julia Lee
  9. Show Me Missouri Blues – Julia Lee
  10. Dream Lucky Blues – Julia Lee
  11. Doin’ The Boogie Woogie – Albert Ammons, Piano & Rhythm Kings
  12. Suitcase Blues – Albert Ammons, Piano & Rhythm Kings
  13. Tell Your Best Friend Nothing – Myra Taylor
  14. Railroad Porter’s Blues – Eddie ‘Cleanhead’ Vinson & His Orchestra
  15. Gonna Send You Where I Got You From – Eddie ‘Cleanhead’ Vinson & His Orchestra
  16. Hold That Money – Gene Ammons Sextet
  17. I’m In My Sins This Morning – Myra Taylor
  18. Booted – Dinah Washington
  19. Long John Blues – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four
  20. (I’m A) Wonderin’ Man – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four
  21. I Love My Whiskey – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four (“I’ve got a bottle right here in my hand”) (“I’ve gotta be drunk to cry”)
  22. You’ve been Mistreating Me – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four
  23. I Stay Blue All The Time – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four
  24. Water Coast Blues – Big Bill Broonzy & His Fat Four
  25. Shame On You Baby – St. Louis Jimmy
  26. I’m Not Satisfied – St. Louis Jimmy S

 

Disc: 2

  1. Mud Kickin’ Woman – Sunnyland Slim & His Sunny Boys
  2. Everytime I Get To Drinkin’ – Sunnyland Slim & His Sunny Boys
  3. Train Is Comin’ – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  4. The Question – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  5. I’m A Good Rockin’ Daddy – Ray Snead
  6. Drivin’ Me Mad – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  7. Never Let Me Love – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  8. Train Time – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  9. Blue Evening – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  10. Get Back (Black, Brown And White) – Big Bill Broonzy
  11. Willie Mae – Big Bill Broonzy
  12. I Know She Will – Big Bill Broonzy
  13. Leavin’ Day – Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra
  14. South Bound Train – Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra
  15. Tomorrow – Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra
  16. You Changed – Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra
  17. (I’m Gonna) Dig Myself A Hole – Robert Jr. Lockwood & His Band
  18. Dust My Broom – Robert Jr. Lockwood & His Band
  19. Glory Of Man – Robert Jr. Lockwood & His Band
  20. My Daily Wish – Robert Jr. Lockwood & His Band
  21. No Mail Blues – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  22. You’re Gonna Need My Help Someday – Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
  23. Ain’t Nothing But A Child – Sunnyland Slim & His Trio
  24. Brown Skinned Woman – Sunnyland Slim & His Trio
  25. Hit The Road Again – Sunnyland Slim & His Trio
  26. Gin Drinkin’ Baby – Sunnyland Slim & His Trio
  27. Leap Year Blues – Sax Mallard & His Orchestra
Sure, a bunch of these tunes are intended as party soundtracks and get-to-drinkin’ anthems intended for dive jukeboxes. But they’re so solid and precisely/loosely executed that they present the best of Middle America African-America as I came to love it after I discovered Charlie Parker. The big names you know. This is well-selected enough that the obscurities keep up.

Leave a Reply

