Expert Witness Comment for the Week(s)

I would knock Regina Spektor down to three stars, but that’s because Bob and I have exact opposite assessments of her valuable qualities: I find her whimsy shows off her intelligence and is all but irresistible; when she gets into more serious-gritty, I feel she become colder and more abstract.

Although I might bump up the Tanya Tagaq to a B+, I agree that the latest has her most “arty” moments. But I would add they are a new feature. Not a moment of them on her debut.

The vintage Pat Thomas collection, Coming Home, is a grand tip. Fascinating reminder that English lyrics was once regarded as a sign of being “modern” songster … or was that just fascination with Fela?

Leave a Reply

