Old Man Makes Top Tens

I’ve aged out of some of the flaws of my early years voting in music polls and just making lists of albums and artists in general–

  1. Including something that I have unclear feelings about because it should be on the list, dammit, everybody else is going to have it.
  2. Including something that won’t come into focus for me but that was intelligently admired and explained by a writer I trust a lot.
  3. Not quite understanding that I include diverse styles not as an end in itself but because I have diverse taste.
  4. Either neglecting the early months of the year or throwing in a recent release that I’m only temporarily thrilled about (I still worry about this last kludge happening).

There is one hang-up that I still have to watch out for —

  1. Making sure that I’m including works or performers who provoke my passions, not merely ones I admire a great deal.

One thought on “Old Man Makes Top Tens

Leave a Reply

