Stuff in the Air That Came Out of Speakers Today #54

African Head Charge, Environmental Holes & Drastic Tracks 1981-1986 (On-U Sound, 5-CD set).

I hadn’t listened to these albums in years because they were stuck on vinyl in the warehouse. I thought they were exciting as hell when new and now they’ve, well, changed. What’s lost is that they no longer sound like signs pointing to a certain, ever-richer-and-stranger future. But that’s all out faults, not the records’. A must for fans and those wanting a sample should know my faves are the debut, My Life in a Hole in the Ground (read the African novel of the same title!) and Drastic Season. The bonus rare-tracks CD is half sweet stuff half outtakes-for-a-reason. Informative liner notes, though I’m not sure I feel the later Songs of Praise sails beyond the two best early efforts.

PS: My Life in a Hole in the Ground (read the African novel of the same title!)

Again, shows you should do more research, no matter how late it is. I believe what I was thinking is that the title of the album was a take-off on Amos Tutuola’s My Life in the Bush of Ghosts. Tutuola is indeed well worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

