Perfect: “An Endless Celebration of Nothing”

Charlie Pierce nails the ideal phrase for the mode that will take over the United States tomorrow —   “an endless celebration of nothing.”

I’m going to take my final afternoon walk, covered by Medicare as I have known it, able to write about art and issues I care about (if not as often as I would like), able to enjoy a little while as what I once would have called an old guy in a joyous, long-term marriage.

But all the previous worlds I looked at this month are ending at sunrise Friday. The only new crime that will matter is pointing out the Nothing is Nothing.

Leave a Reply

