My 2 Scents on Van Morrison and The Highwaymen

Finally got around to do a the whole sequence of It’s Too Late to Stop Now and the recently issued It’s Too Late to Stop Now… Volumes II, III, IV & DVD. No question, they picked the most electrifying and masterful performances for the original release but it’s good to get this out of the vaults and confirmed You-da-Man Van types like me will have to have it. Even then, I doubt I’ll watch the DVD more than maybe once again.

The Very Best of the Highwaymen is their finest retrospective by a country mile. Maneezuz, did those guys know how to pick the tunz. (“Desperados Waiting for a Train” sparked me to order what I hope will be a definitive Guy Clark best-of on that admirable Aussie label, Raven.) As D put it, “If we had to go with totally inexperienced, why couldn’t Willie Nelson be president?”

One thought on “My 2 Scents on Van Morrison and The Highwaymen

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Albums I Discovered/Apprehended/Finally Clicked With In Jan. 2017 | Miles To Go

Leave a Reply

